Skip to main content



Professor Lyn Beazley AO FTSE

Professor Lyn Beazley AO FTSE

After graduating from Oxford and Edinburgh Universities, Professor Lyn Beazley built an internationally renowned research team in Neuroscience that focused on recovery from brain damage, much of her investigations undertaken as Winthrop Professor at The University of Western Australia. Currently Lyn is the Sir Walter Murdoch Professor of Science at Murdoch University.

As Chief Scientist of Western Australia from 2006 to 2013, Lyn advised the Western Australian Government on science, innovation and technology as well as fulfilling the role of science ambassador locally, nationally and internationally.

In 2009, Lyn was awarded Officer of the Order of Australia and was elected a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering.

More recently, Lyn was inducted into the inaugural Western Australian Women’s Hall of Fame and was elected as a Fellow of the College of Educators.  In 2012, Lyn became the second recipient of the Governor’s Award for Giving, in recognition of her enthusiastic philanthropy through her outreach activities promoting Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics in the Western Australian community.

In 2013, Lyn was honoured to be inducted into the Western Australian Science Hall of Fame and to become a Companion of the Institute of Engineers.  Lyn was amazed and delighted to be named the WA Australian of the Year for 2015.

Hon Kerry Sanderson, AC

Hon Kerry Sanderson, AC

Honourable Kerry Sanderson AC was Western Australia’s 32nd Governor. Prior to becoming Governor, she had a distinguished career both in business and in the public sector having chaired and served on a number of corporate boards and appointed as director of listed companies, not-for-profit and charitable organisations.

Kerry was CEO of Fremantle Ports for 17 years until October 2008 and was then Agent General for the State of Western Australia from November 2008 until December 2011. Based in London, the Agent General represents the State of Western Australia in Europe and Russia and promotes investment in Western Australia and Western Australian exports to Europe. In 2004, she was named an Officer of the Order of Australia for service to the development and management of the port and maritime industries in Australia, and to public sector governance in the areas of finance and transport in Western Australia. She was also the inaugural inductee to the Lloyds List Shipping and Transport Hall of Fame.

A strong advocate for excellence in Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM) education in schools, Kerry launched the Governor’s School STEM Awards in 2015 to recognise the commitment of school leadership teams in developing their schools’ STEM program, to encourage students to better understand the possibilities that studying science and mathematics brings.
In 2016, she was inducted as Honorary Member of the Australian Computer Society for her role in supporting societal development with regards to opportunities brought forth by the information technology revolution.

In 2016, Kerry was appointed a Companion of the Order for eminent service to the people of Western Australia, to the promotion of international investment, scientific research and export opportunities, and through roles with maritime, mining, emergency management and not-for-profit organisations.