Australian Technology Network (ATN) programs

Programs for postgraduate research students

The Australian Technology Network (ATN) comprises Curtin University, Queensland University of Technology, RMIT University, the University of South Australia and the University of Technology, Sydney and these institutions are committed to forging partnerships with industry and government to deliver practical results through focused research.

ATN programs for postgraduate research students:

  • Learning Employment Aptitudes Program (LEAP) – online moderated modules for research students to improve employment skills while studying
  • Modules Online for Research Education (MORE) – online self-paced opportunities for research students to improve their study skills
  • Developing Your Career (DYC) – online short courses to help research students prepare for their career

Download the 2017 LEAP MORE DYC timetable

Program for postgraduate research supervisors:

The ATN Industry Doctoral Training Centre (IDTC) is the first doctoral training centre in Australia. By connecting PhD students with industry, the IDTC addresses the current critical shortage of industry focused highly trained researchers in mathematical sciences and related disciplines.

Features of the IDTC program:

  • the PhD project will originate in industry, not academia
  • the student associated with the project may be a present employee of the industry partner
  • the program will contain coursework and professional development components, aimed at the development of technical and executive leadership skills
  • the student will spend a significant amount of time of their candidature working at the industry partner site.

Nodes of the IDTC (Mathematics and Statistics) are located in each Australian mainland state, at all of the ATN Universities.

The Curtin University node of the IDTC (Mathematics and Statistics) is located in the Department of Mathematics and Statistics, within WACEIO (The Western Australian Centre for Excellence in Industrial Optimisation).