Radiation safety contacts

Radiation safety supervisors

Heads of Schools or Centre Directors may nominate a Radiation Safety Supervisor (RSS) to act on their behalf in matters related to radiation safety in their area. Whilst the University Radiation Safety Officer (RSO) carries out the majority of the work related to radiation safety at the University, the RSS forms an integral component of the radiation safety system by overseeing all radiation work in their area. Specifically the RSS will:

  1. liaise with the University RSO regarding changes or issues related to radiation safety within their area.
  2. advise local staff on the University requirements and processes related to radiation safety.
  3. maintain local radiation related documentation.

Staff and students who are planning to conduct radiation related work, or have questions about radiation safety, should in the first instance contact their local RSS.

RSS or Licensee

The following states the difference between a RSS and a radiation licensee:

  • RSS – The RSS is an administrative role appointed by the Head of School to act on their behalf to ensure radiation projects within the area follow University requirements and processes.
  • Licensee – the radiation licence holder has a licence granted by the Government to work and supervise others on projects involving radiation. The Licensee has legal responsibilities for the day-to-day radiation safety aspects of the work carried out under their licence.

The roles of RSS and licence holder can be occupied by the same person or by different persons depending on the needs of the area. Where there are numerous radiation projects within a School/Centre it is anticipated there will be a number of licence holders taking responsibility for each of the projects, but there will be only one RSS for the School/Centre.

Table of Curtin radiation safety supervisors

FacultySchool or DepartmentNameContact Details
Science and EngineeringApplied GeologyA/Prof Fred JourdanPhone: (08) 9266 2412 Email: F.Jourdan@curtin.edu.au
Applied Physics and John de Laeter CoEMiss Ketesse HansenPhone: (08) 9266 2643 Email: Ketesse.Hansen@curtin.edu.au
Chemical EngineeringMr Xiao Hua (Jimmy)Phone: (08) 9266 9242 Email: Xiao.Hua@curtin.edu.au
ChemistryMr Peter ChapmanPhone: (08) 9266 3425 Email: P.Chapman@curtin.edu.au
Civil and Mechanical EngineeringDr Ray MahidashtPhone: (08) 9266 7709 Email: Ray.Ghasemi@curtin.edu.au
Exploration GeophysicsDr Michael CarsonPhone: (08) 9266 4973 Email: Michael.Carson@curtin.edu.au
Medical Imaging Science DisciplineDr Curtise NgPhone: (08) 9266 7314 Email: Curtise.Ng@curtin.edu.au
Health SciencesBiomedical SciencesMr Adrian PaxmanPhone: (08) 9266 3402 Email: A.Paxman@curtin.edu.au
CHIRI Biosciences Research Precinct (Building 305)Dr Rob SteuartPhone: (08) 9266 7362 Email: R.Steuart@curtin.edu.au
PhysiotherapyA/Prof Kathy BriffaPhone: (08) 9266 3666 Email: Kathy.Briffa@curtin.edu.au
Public HealthDr Syed AbbasPhone: (08) 9266 7334 Email: S.Abbas@curtin.edu.au
Research and DevelopmentLife Sciences Research FacilityDr Beng ChuaPhone: (08) 9266 1827 Email: B.Chua@curtin.edu.au
Kalgoorlie CampusDr Bogale TadessePhone: (08) 9088 6636 Email: Bogale.Tadesse@curtin.edu.au
Sarawak Campus MiriMr Kelvin Wong Kin YinPhone: +60 85-443939 Email: wongkinyin@curtin.edu.my

Radiation Safety Officer

The Radiation Safety Officer (RSO) is a legislated role that coordinates radiation activities at Curtin University to ensure compliance with the Radiation Safety Act 1975 and other regulations. The RSO is responsible for instituting and maintaining a system of radiation safety at Curtin University and is monitored by the University Radiation Safety Committee, comprising members from across the University.

Matt Carroll
Office of Research and Development (ORD)
Phone: (08) 9266 1708
Email: radsafety@curtin.edu.au