Research misconduct

All researchers at Curtin University must conduct research in accordance with the Australian Code for the Responsible Conduct of Research. You can request a copy of the Code from the Manager, Research Integrity.

Part B of the Code deals with breaches of the code, research misconduct, and the framework for resolving allegations.

Research misconduct falls into three categories:

Failure to implement the Code

Failure to take responsibility for achieving the standards aspired to Part A of the Code.

Breaches of the Code

Specific actions or omissions that constitute breaches of this Code, but lack the seriousness of consequence or wilfulness to constitute research misconduct. Such breaches should be remedied by counselling or advice. Their repetition or continuation may, however, lead to more serious consequences and may constitute research misconduct.

Research misconduct

Serious breaches of the Code that are sufficiently substantial to warrant formal allegation, investigation, and denial or admission. If proven, such misconduct would be expected to lead to disciplinary action by the institution in accordance with its instruments of employment.

Research integrity advisers

Research integrity advisers are available at Curtin to provide advice to researchers with queries related to the Code.  If you have a question about breaches of the Code or research misconduct please contact a research integrity adviser. Each adviser will be able to advise a staff member who is unsure about a research conduct issue and may be considering whether to make an allegation.

Health Sciences

Dr Delia Nelson
Phone: +61 8 9266 9785
Email: delia.nelson@curtin.edu.au

Dr Katrina Spilsbury
Phone: +61 8 9266 1850
Email: katrina.spilsbury@curtin.edu.au

Dr Lauren Breen
Phone: +61 8 9266 7943
Email: lauren.breen@curtin.edu.au

Curtin Business School

Dr Grantley Taylor
Phone: +61 8 9266 3377
Email: grantley.taylor@curtin.edu.au

Dr Shirlee-ann Knight
Phone: +61 8 9266 7075
Email: s.knight@curtin.edu.au

Humanities

Dr Eva Dobozy
Phone: +61 8 9266 3253
Email: eva.dobozy@curtin.edu.au

Science and Engineering

A/Prof Kate Trinajstic
Phone: +61 8 9266 2492
Email: k.trinajstic@curtin.edu.au